Daily Archives: August 28, 2012

DIY Hair Elastics

So I think the title speaks for itself? I have been wanting to make these for quite sometime as I absolutely love them! With my hair it is so difficult to find a hair elastic that stays in my hair and doesn’t slip out–but also, my hair is incredibly fine so any hair elastic makes a pretty substantial dent in my hair over time (I heard these do not have has big of an effect). Here is what the hair ties looked like when all said and done!

I did some research as to where to purchase the elastic I needed to create these and after a few searches I landed on this website and for the price I couldn’t go wrong–I placed the order right then and there. I received an email stating that they were slightly behind in orders but they would get them out as soon as possible; so I patiently waited for the package to arrive, and it arrived yesterday. I ordered the 5/8 in. foldover elastic in several colors.

Here is how I made the hair ties once I had the elastic:

Step One:

I started with a yard of the elastic in the color of my choice (each yard will make 4) and brought out my heavy duty sissors (Susan Sargant sissors–not sure if they still make them) to cut with

Step 2:

Fold the elastic into even forths

Step 3:

Cut at each fold at a diagonal angle

Step 4:

Tie the two ends together and you are done! Isn’t that simple?

You can also package the hair ties in different ways. I had a piece of cardboard sitting around so I wrapped a few around it. But, I have seen them around the web wrapped around colored cardstock with cute sayings etc.

Finally, here are some of the hairties I have completed!! Super easy and rewarding….my hair will thank me!

What a wonderful day for a Baby Shower!!!

On Friday I had the honor of throwing one my best gal-pals at work a Baby Shower. Although she is having her second child (another baby girl–wahooo!) I thought it would be fun to surprise her with some cupcakes, good company and laughs at our work during lunch time.

I invited everyone from her department (luckily it is a department I work very closely with) including the boys. I didn’t want to leave anyone out! With the help of some other ladies the party was a smashing success–complete with some hormonal pregnant lady tears (she is probably going to kill me for writing that).

Unfortunately, I only had the camera on my phone and I completely forgot to take more photos. But, I will post a few so you can get an idea of what the PARTAYYY looked like.

A few weeks back I started to think up what the theme of the party would be. I decided to choose a color theme rather than say an animal theme etc. I decided on the color palette of grey, pink and yellow (mostly because I bought the fabric first and it had a cool pattern with grey and pink (I used it as the table runner). I then started designing some patterns to use. I chose gingham and stripes – two of my all time favorite patterns.

Image

One thing  neglected to mention is how much alike Sindy and I are. Yes, she is a few years older (and wiser) and has her second child on the way, but, all in all we have a very similar style and love for many of the same things. One major thing we have in common–we are preps…true and through, we love our pink, yellows, blues and greens.

Back to more on the party planning. I decided what things I wanted to be displayed on the table and whether the party should have a full lunch served or just snacks. I decided on the latter so people could come and go through their lunch hour and eat what they wanted. I enlisted the help of two very talented baker friends of mine at work to make the cupcakes and cookies (baking is not my forte). I made pinwheels, popcorn boxes with popcorn, label tents, cupcake wrappers, cupcake flags, tissue paper poofs (in pink and white) and a framed print to put on the table. Also, I personalized a clear plastic tumbler that I picked up at homegoods with Sindy’s initials that I cut out of vinyl using my Silhouette Cameo (later I will dedicated an entire post to this machine) for her to drink her lemonade out of.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I wish I had a picture of every little detail, but as you will note in the picture of the table after it was all set up, there were a lot of other details that I added in as I saw fit. The Hershey kisses on the table were a mix of pink wrapped kisses with flags that said “It’s a Girl” that I think I picked up at Michael’s, and plain old silver kisses. Also, I put together the bouquet of flowers (see photo above) using three small bouquets I picked up from a local grocery store. I decided to add some lemon slices to the water to add a little pop of yellow to the water.

If I get more pictures that other people took–I will be sure to share them…but for now, that is all she wrote! Have any of you thrown a baby shower recently? What was your experience like?